Monday 17 June 2024

FIFA Women's World Cup Tournaments : 1991-2023

The first tournament was held in 1991 in China. Nine have now been held and under the @/WC column, the number of times a country has participated is shown. To rank how nations have performed, I created the chart you see below. So how does it work?

Points are allocated according to where teams finished each World Cup and those points are added together in the 'Tot' column. 

The 'Avg' figure is arrived at by dividing the 'Tot' number with the @/WC one. So a country that has done well when they did attend will have a higher average figure than those performing poorly when they attended, regardless of how often they did so. 

The lowest part of the chart reveals how each region did. The three rows show - total points accrued, the number of nations each region sent and finally the average points. As the number of participating countries increases, the points do not increase at the same rate so average points reduce with additional countries being admitted. 

Taking the Americas as an example, it started with just two countries and had the highest average of 10 points each. In 2024, with nine countries it had the lowest average per nation of 2.4. I wonder if the organisers will react to that or view it as a long term project where the experience gained will rectify that next time. 

Summary: The USA is clearly the most successful country, ahead of Germany. That despite neither doing that well in the 2023 event. England, the Netherlands and Spain have missed some tournaments but both have been successful when attending. New Zealand is notable for the opposite reason. 

Saturday 15 June 2024

Türkiye: Teams Ranked - 1960/61 to 2023/24

The main four clubs in Türkiye are to the right. The 'Tur' column represents local success and 'Tot' includes European action which adds little to the tally. The top three are all from Istambul with Trabzonspor situated on the northern Black Sea coast. 

So how do the points work? In the Süper Lig (Division 1) the top four are rewarded with 6, 3, 2 and 1. The Türkiye Kupası (Cup) 4 and 2 points for the finalists only. In Europe, the Europa League (UEFA Cup) is given 6, 3 and 1. 

The Süper Lig features the expected big four. Galatasaray has won the last two with Trabzonspor the one previous and Besiktas the one before that. Istanbul Basaksehir was top in 2019/20 as an emerging competitive club. 

The Türkiye Kupası was first contested during the 1962/63 season and it is shared around quite well. In the past six years Besiktas has won twice and the other three listed to the right once each. Sivasspor was the interloper, winning in 2022. 

European action has only been in the Europa League, with Galatasaray defeating Arsenal in the 2000 final on penalties. Otherwise, it's been lean pickings. 

All put together, the clubs are below. The grand total is shown for each club, divided into regions with a ranking number (Rk) which gives their place compared to all the other clubs. 

Marmara being the leading region with 74% of total points. It is mainly comprised of clubs from Istanbul. The northern coast along the Black Sea is next (13.5%), then the Central Region with Ankara being the main city. The Aegean Region (3.1%), the southern coast called the Mediterranean Region (2.7%) and finally the South East (0.9%).

Friday 14 June 2024

Greece: Teams Ranked - 1960/61 to 2023/24

A few clubs dominate football in Greece. The chart on the right shows that. The 'Gre' column is for domestic games and 'Tot' adds European glory. Four clubs are well represented and that's about it. 

Virtually all points are from the domestic competition with European success is rare. 

So how do the points work? In the Super League (Division 1) the top four are rewarded with 6, 3, 2 and 1. The Greek Cup 4 and 2 points for the finalists only. The League Cup was held once but still scored 3 and 1 for the finalists.

In Europe, the Champions League (European Cup) 8, 4 and two from the semi finals forward. The Europa League (UEFA Cup) got 6, 3 and 1. The new Conference League I added to the long defunct Cup Winner's Cup. They get 4 and 2 for the finalists. 

From 1997/98 to 2021/22, Olympiacos won the league 22 out of 26 times. Panathinaikos and PAOK have since won it once each in that order. AEK Athens last won in 2017/18. In the time covered here, only five clubs have won the league. The outlier was Alpha Ethniki-AEL in 1987/88.

The Cup is not well spread among clubs either. The four listed to the right dominate. Over the last 26 years, only the four listed have won it. Current holder Panathinaikos also won two years earlier with PAOK and AEK Athens being recent winners also. 

Europe is a tough ask but Olympiacos won the Conference League in 2024, the only title a Greek side has won over this period. Panathinaikos has had some Champions League success. 

All put together, the clubs are below. The grand total is shown for each club, divided into regions with a ranking number (Rk) which gives their place compared to all the other clubs. 

Athens with 78.9% of the success, Thessaloniki (17%) and the Rest (4.1%). It reflects the dominance of a few clubs. Feedback welcome.